Home / Resources / Trending Profiles / Health Profiles

Trending Health Profiles

Compliments of Leadership® Health Focus
 

In this Edition:

May 2017  

Polen Named President of BD

Thomas E. “Tom” Polen

Becton, Dickson and Company announced on April 23, 2017 that they promoted Thomas Polen to be president of the company, where he will oversee all of BD’s operating segments. Polen began his career at BD in 1999, but left the company in 2004 to join Baxter International Inc., where he most recently served as general manager of its Global Pharmaceutical Injectables business. In 2009, Polen rejoined BD and has held many leadership roles, including his most recent as executive vice president and president of BD’s medical segment. View profile ↓

 

Longest Serving CEO at Silver Cross Plans to Retire

Silver Cross Hospital

Silver Cross Hospital has named Senior Vice President of Business Development and Chief Strategy Officer Ruth Colby as its next president and chief executive officer, effective October 1, 2017. Colby will replace current President and CEO Paul Pawlak, who plans to retire at the end of September 2017. After 27 years of leading Silver Cross, Pawlak will be recognized as the longest serving CEO at the hospital and under his leadership, the hospital received the 100 Top Hospital award for seven straight years. In a press release Colby stated, “I look forward to continuing to advance these strengths and ensure Silver Cross remains a treasured asset to our community and to the patients we are privileged to serve.” View profile ↓


 
 

 

Thomas E. "Tom" Polen

President

Becton, Dickinson and Company [BD]

One Becton Drive, Franklin Lakes, NJ 07417-1880

Tel: (201) 847-6800

tom_polen@bd.com

Fax: (201) 847-6475

Search online for more about this person

Leadership® People ID 2014875930

Positions

 

President, Becton, Dickinson and Company [BD]

Start Date: 2017

Reports to: Vincent A. "Vince" Forlenza, Jr., Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Becton, Dickinson and Company [BD]

Location:

One Becton Drive, Franklin Lakes, NJ 07417-1880 
Tel: (201) 847-6800
Fax: (201) 847-6475
tom_polen@bd.com

 

 

Bio

 

Education: Maryland BS; Johns Hopkins 2003 MBA

 

 

Career History

 

President, CareFusion Corporation (2015-2017)

 

President, BD Medical (2014-2017)

 

Executive Vice President and President, Medical Segment, Becton, Dickinson and Company (2014-2017)

 

Group President, Medical Surgical Systems and Pharmaceutical Systems, Becton, Dickinson and Company (2013-2014)

 

Worldwide President, Diagnostic Systems, Becton, Dickinson and Company (2010-2013)

 

Worldwide President, Preanalytical Systems, Becton, Dickinson and Company (2009-2010)

 

General Manager, Global Pharmaceutical Injectables, Baxter International Inc. (2007-2009)

 

Vice President, Strategic Marketing, Baxter International Inc.

 

Senior Director, Marketing, BioPharma Solutions, Baxter International Inc.

 

 

 

Silver Cross Hospital

 

1900 Silver Cross Boulevard, New Lenox, IL 60451

Tel: (815) 300-1100
Click here to visit this organization's website

 

Business Description: Silver Cross Hospital is a nonprofit acute care hospital.

 

Number of Beds: 304
Tax Status: 501 (c)(3)
Specialties: Allergy/Immunology; Anesthesiology; Bariatric Surgery; Cardiac Surgery; Cardiology; Dermatology; Emergency Medicine; Endocrinology; ENT; Gastroenterology; General Surgery; Gynecology; Hematology/Oncology; Infectious Disease; Nephrology; Neurology; Neurosurgery; Obstetrics and Gynecology; Ophthalmology; Orthopaedic Surgery; Orthopedic Surgery; Otolaryngology; Pain; Pathology; Pediatric Ophthalmology; Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation; Podiatry; Pulmonary Diseases; Radiation Oncology; Rheumatology; Sleep Medicine; Spinal Surgery; Urology; Vascular Surgery

 

 

Officers and Management

President and Chief Executive Officer Paul Pawlak

(815) 300-1100

  

Note: Until October 1, 2017.

ppawlak@silvercross.org

  

President and Chief Executive Officer Ruth A. Colby

(815) 300-1100

  

Start Date: 2017

Note: Effective October 1, 2017.

rcolby@silvercross.org

Education: Northwestern; NYU MD; Chicago MBA

  

Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer Mary Bakken

(815) 300-1100

  

mbakken@silvercross.org

  

Senior Vice President, Finance and Chief Financial Officer John Krepps

(815) 300-1100

  

Start Date: 2013

jkrepps@silvercross.org

Career: Vice President, Finance, Silver Cross Hospital

  

 

Senior Vice President, Business Development and Chief Strategy Officer Ruth A. Colby

(815) 300-1100

  

Note: Until October 1, 2017.

rcolby@silvercross.org

Education: Northwestern; NYU MD; Chicago MBA

  

Vice President, Managed Care Wayne Aardsma

(815) 300-1100

  

Start Date: 2012

waardsma@silvercross.org

  

Vice President, Patient Care Services Peggy Gricus

(815) 300-1100

  

pgricus@silvercross.org

  

Vice President, Human Resources Mark Jepson

(815) 300-1100

  

mjepson@silvercross.org

  

Vice President, Foundation Larry Johnson

(815) 300-1100

  

larryj@silvercross.org

  

Vice President and Chief Information Officer Kevin Lane

(815) 300-1100

  

klane@silvercross.org

  

Vice President, Operations Geoffrey Tryon

(815) 300-1100

  

gtryon@silvercross.org

  

Vice President and Chief Medical Officer Christopher Udovich

(815) 300-1100

  

cudovich@silvercross.org

  

 

 

Departments and Divisions

 

 

Department of Bariatric Surgery

Director Mary Beth Antone

(815) 300-1100

  

mantone@silvercross.org

  

 

 

Department of Cardiac Surgery

Chair Mary Beth Antone

(815) 300-1100

  

mantone@silvercross.org

  

 

 

Department of Cardiology

Director Dr. Adrienne Parkhurst, MD

(815) 300-1100

  

aparkhurst@silvercross.org

  

 

 

Department of Emergency Medicine

Director Dr. Kathy Delapaz, MD

(815) 300-1100

  

kdelapaz@silvercross.org

  

 

 

Department of Endocrinology

Manager Dr. Brendan Casey, MD

(815) 300-1100

  

bcasey@silvercross.org

  

 

 

Department of Gastroenterology

Manager Dr. Brendan Casey, MD

(815) 300-1100

  

bcasey@silvercross.org

  

 

 

Department of General Surgery

Director Dr. Pat Crusch, MD

(815) 300-1100

  

 

 

Department of Hematology and Oncology

Director Dr. Liz Zavala, MD

(815) 300-1100

  

 

 

Department of Nephrology

Medical Director Dr. Preeti Nagarkatti, MD

(815) 300-1100

  

 

 

Department of Neurology

Director Dr. Marci Vasiliades, MD

(815) 300-7351

  

mvasiliades@silvercross.org

  

 

 

Department of Pathology

Director Dr. Mary Kathryn Ahleong, MD

(815) 300-1100

  

mahleong@silvercross.org

  

 

 

Department of Pediatrics

Director Dr. Lynne Daly, MD

(815) 300-1100

  

ldaly@silvercross.org

  

 

 

Department of Physical Medicine

Manager Dr. Matthew Boebel, MD

(815) 300-1100

  

mboebel@silvercross.org

  

 

 

Department of Pulmonary Diseases

Manager Dr. Brendan Casey, MD

(815) 300-1100

  

bcasey@silvercross.org