Home / Resources / Trending Profiles / Health Profiles

Trending Health Profiles

Compliments of Leadership® Health Focus
 

In this Edition:

February 2017  

From Law Firm to Health Care

Edo Banach

After 15 years under the leadership of J. Donald Schumacher, the National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization announced that Edo Banach has been named its next President and Chief Executive Officer. Banach currently serves as a partner in the firm of Gallagher, Evelius & Jones and will begin his new role on February 22, 2017. Previously, Banach served as the Deputy Director of the Medicare-Medicaid Coordination Office at the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services and Associate General Counsel at the Visiting Nurse Service on New York. View profile ↓

 

One of the Largest Pediatric Bone Marrow Transplantation Programs

ALSAC/St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital

As of January 30, 2017, ALSAC/St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital has named Dr. Stephen Gottschalk, M.D., as the Chair of the Department of Bone Marrow Transplantation and Cellular Therapy at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital. St. Jude has one the largest pediatric bone marrow transplantation programs in the world and is responsible for more than 2,900 bone marrow transplants since 1982. Gottschalk will begin his new role in August 2017 and is currently the Director of Texas Children’s Cancer Center in the Basic and Translational Research Division. View profile ↓


 
 


 

Edo Banach

Partner

Gallagher, Evelius & Jones, LLP

218 North Charles Street, Suite 400, Baltimore, MD 21201

Direct-Dial: (410) 951-1421

ebanach@gejlaw.com

Search online for more about this person

Leadership® People ID 2000957395

Positions

 

Partner, Gallagher, Evelius & Jones, LLP

Start Date: 2015

Note: Until February 21, 2017.

Location:

218 North Charles Street, Suite 400, Baltimore, MD 21201 
Direct-Dial: (410) 951-1421
ebanach@gejlaw.com

 

 

 

President and Chief Executive Officer, National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization, Inc. [NHPCO]

Start Date: 2017

Note: Effective February 22, 2017.

Location:

1731 King Street, Suite 100, Alexandria, VA 22314 
Tel: (703) 837-1500
Fax: (703) 837-1233

 

 

Bio

 

Education: SUNY (Binghamton) 1996 BA; Pennsylvania 2001 JD

 

 

Career History

 

Deputy Director, Federal Coordinated Health Care Office, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, United States Department of Health and Human Services

 

Acting Deputy Director, Federal Coordinated Health Care Office, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, United States Department of Health and Human Services (2014-2015)

 

Law Clerk, The Honorable John T. Nixon, United States District Court for the Middle District of Tennessee

 

Associate General Counsel, Visiting Nurse Service of New York (2006-2010)

 

General Counsel, Medicare Rights Center (2005-2006)

 

 

 


 

ALSAC/St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

 

262 Danny Thomas Place, Memphis, TN 38105

Tel: (901) 578-2000 (ALSAC)
Tel: (901) 595-3300 (St. Jude Children's Research Hospital)
http://www.stjude.org

 

Business Description: ALSAC (American Lebanese Syrian Associated Charities) is the fundraising organization of St. Jude Children's Research Hospital. ALSAC exists solely to raise and provide the funds necessary to operate and maintain St. Jude.

 

Annual Revenue: Over $1,299,851 thousand (2015)
Specialties: Pediatric Genetics; Pediatric Oncology; Pediatrics

 

Group Purchasing MembershipNational Comprehensive Cancer Network

 

 

Administration

Chief Executive Officer Richard C. "Rick" Shadyac, Jr.

(901) 578-2000

  

Start Date: 2009

rick.shadyac@stjude.org

Date of Birth: 1957

Education: Marquette 1979 BA; Loyola U (Chicago) 1982 JD

Career: ALSAC Chief Executive Officer, ALSAC/St. Jude Children's Research Hospital (1992-2005); Partner, Feldesman Tucker Leifer Fidell LLP; Attorney, Feldesman Tucker Leifer Fidell LLP

  

Chief Marketing Officer Emily Callahan

(901) 595-3300

  

Start Date: 2010

emily.callahan@stjude.org

Education: Baylor; North Texas

Career: Vice President, Marketing, Susan G. Komen for the Cure; Senior Vice President, Global Marketing and Networks, Susan G. Komen for the Cure; Public Relations Manager, Susan G. Komen for the Cure; Supervisor, Edelman; Adjunct Professor, University of North Texas

  

Chief Administrative Officer Emily S. Greer

(901) 578-2000

  

Start Date: 2013

emily.greer@stjude.org

Career: Transition Team Co-Chair, Mayor Jim Strickland, Office of the Mayor, City of Memphis, Tennessee (2015); Chief of Staff, ALSAC/St. Jude Children's Research Hospital; Senior Vice President, Human Resources, ALSAC Administration, ALSAC/St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

  

Chief Legal Officer and General Counsel Sara L. Hall

(901) 595-3300

  

Start Date: 2010

sara.hall@stjude.org

Education: North Carolina

Career: Director, Board of Directors, Memphis Business Group on Health; City Attorney, Office of the City Attorney, City of Memphis, Tennessee; Director, Human Resources Division, City of Memphis, Tennessee

  

Chief Donor Officer Martin Hand

(901) 578-2000

  

martin.hand@stjude.org

  

Chief Development Officer Sue Harpole

(901) 578-2000

  

Start Date: 2016

sue.harpole@stjude.org

Career: Interim Deputy Chief Development Officer, ALSAC/St. Jude Children's Research Hospital; Senior Vice President, Gift Planning, ALSAC/St. Jude Children's Research Hospital; Executive Director, Gift Planning, Principal, Major and Leadership Gifts, ALSAC/St. Jude Children's Research Hospital; Vice Chancellor, Development, University of Tennessee Health Science Center

  

Chief Information Officer Robert Machen

(901) 578-2000

  

robert.machen@stjude.org

  

Chief Investment Officer Anurag Pandit

(901) 578-2000

  

anurag.pandit@stjude.org

  

Senior Vice President, Enterprise Call Centers Wilfred Busby

(901) 578-2000

  

wilfred.busby@stjude.org

Career: Vice President, Call Centers, ALSAC/St. Jude Children's Research Hospital (2013-2016)

  

Senior Vice President, Field Operations Christopher Boysen

(901) 578-2000

  

Start Date: 2013

chris.boysen@stjude.org

Career: Vice President, Field Operations, ALSAC/St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

  

Senior Vice President, Strategic Partnerships Steele Ford

(901) 578-2000

  

steele.ford@stjude.org

Career: Vice President, Strategic Partnerships, ALSAC/St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

  

Senior Vice President, National Direct Marketing Steven Froehlich

(901) 578-2000

  

Start Date: 2013

Career: Director, Board of Directors, Direct Marketing Association, Inc. (2014-2016)

  

Senior Vice President, Marketing Melanee Hannock

(901) 578-2000

  

Start Date: 2013

melanee.hannock@stjude.org

Career: Vice President, Igroup, ALSAC/St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

  

Senior Vice President, Human Resources Diane Heyman

(901) 578-2000

  

Start Date: 2014

diane.heyman@stjude.org

  

Senior Vice President, Finance and Chief Financial Officer Jeffrey T. "Jeff" Pearson

(901) 578-2000

  

jeff.pearson@stjude.org

Career: Vice President, ALSAC Administration, ALSAC/St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

  

Senior Vice President and Chief Executive Officer, Operations Reginald Porter, Jr.

(901) 578-2000

  

reginald.porter@stjude.org

  

Senior Vice President, Brand and Creative Mike Siegel

(901) 578-2000

  

Start Date: 2014

mike.siegel@stjude.org

  

Senior Vice President and Chief Strategy Officer George P. Shadroui

(901) 578-2000

  

Start Date: 2013

george.shadroui@stjude.org

Career: Senior Vice President, Strategic Planning and Executive Communications, ALSAC/St. Jude Children's Research Hospital; Vice President, Communications, ALSAC Administration, ALSAC/St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

  

Vice President, Executive Projects and Senior Philanthropy Adviser Brenda Abshure

(901) 578-2000

  

Start Date: 2013

brenda.abshure@stjude.org

Career: Deputy Chief Development Officer, ALSAC/St. Jude Children's Research Hospital; Senior Vice President, Gift Planning, ALSAC/St. Jude Children's Research Hospital; Senior Director, Gift and Planning, ALSAC Administration, ALSAC/St. Jude Children's Research Hospital; Senior Director, Gift and Administrative Investment, ALSAC Administration, ALSAC/St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

  

Vice President, Interactive Group Aimee Hall

(901) 578-2000

  

aimee.hall@stjude.org

  

Vice President and Chief Executive Officer, Affairs and Executive Communications Betty MacDougall

(901) 578-2000

  

Start Date: 2013

betty.macdougall@stjude.org

  

Vice President, Communications Kelly Schulz

(901) 578-2000

  

Start Date: 2014

kelly.schulz@stjude.org

  

Vice President, Gift Planning Regina Watson

(901) 578-2000

  

regina.watson@stjude.org

Career: Interim Vice President, Gift Planning, ALSAC/St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

  

Director, Media Relations Jann Ingmire

(901) 595-6384

  

media@stjude.org

Career: Director, JAMA/Archives Media Relations, JAMA: The Journal of the American Medical Association

  

Director, Corporate Communications Tara Milligan

(901) 578-6744

  

tara.milligan@stjude.org

  

Manager, Public Relations Nancy Newton

(901) 578-6739

  

nancy.newton@stjude.org

  

 

 

St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

 

Chair, President and Chief Executive Officer Dr. James R. Downing, MD

(901) 595-3956

  

Start Date: 2014

Fax: (901) 595-3749

james.downing@stjude.org

332 N. Lauderdale St., Memphis, TN 38105

Education: Michigan, 1981 MD

Current Memberships: Member, Association of American Physicians

Career: Scientific Director and Deputy Director, ALSAC/St. Jude Children's Research Hospital (2011-2014); Executive Vice President and Scientific Director, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital (2004-2011)

  

Clinical Director (Interim) Patricia M. Flynn

(901) 578-2000

  

Start Date: 2016

pat.flynn@stjude.org

332 N. Lauderdale St., Memphis, TN 38105

Career: Deputy Clinical Director, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital (2014-2016)

  

Executive Vice President and Scientific Director James Morgan, PhD

(901) 578-2000

  

Start Date: 2016

james.morgan@stjude.org

Education: Aston (UK) PhD

Career: Interim Scientific Director, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital (2015-2016); Chair, Developmental Neurobiology, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital (2006-2015)

  

Executive Vice President and Physician-In-Chief [Clinical Director] Dr. Ellis J. Neufeld, MD, PhD

(617) 919-2139

  

Start Date: 2017

Note: Effective March 2017.

ellis.neufeld@childrens.harvard.edu

Education: Wesleyan U 1979 BS; Washington U (MO) 1985 MD, 1985 PhD

Career: Program Director, Clinical Translation Study Unit, Boston Children's Hospital

  

Executive Vice President and Chief Administrative Officer Mary Anna Quinn

(901) 595-3300

  

Start Date: 2016

mary.quinn@stjude.org

Career: Senior Vice President and Chief Support Operations Officer, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital (2012-2016); Senior Vice President, Human Resources, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Administration; Vice President, Human Resources, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Administration

  

Executive Vice President and Director, Comprehensive Cancer Center Dr. Charles Roberts, MD

(901) 578-2000

  

Start Date: 2015

charles.roberts@stjude.org

  

Executive Vice President and Director, International Outreach Program [Chair, Department of Global Pediatric Medicine] Dr. Carlos Rodriguez-Galindo, MD

(901) 578-2000

  

Start Date: 2015

Career: Director, Solid Tumor Program, Boston Children's Hospital

  

Senior Vice President, Chief Legal Officer and General Counsel Robyn Diaz, JD

(901) 578-2000

  

Start Date: 2013

robyn.diaz@stjude.org

Education: Brandeis; Georgetown JD

Career: Deputy General Counsel, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital (2012-2013); Associate General Counsel, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital (2008-2012)

  

Senior Vice President, Patient Care Services and Chief Nursing Officer Pam Dotson

(901) 595-3300

  

Start Date: 2013

pam.dotson@stjude.org

Career: Vice President, Patient Care Services and Chief Nursing Officer, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Administration; Interim Vice President, Patient Care Services and Chief Nursing Officer, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Administration

  

Senior Vice President and Chief Information Officer Keith Perry

(901) 578-2000

  

Start Date: 2015

keith.perry@stjude.org

Education: Harding BS; Houston MBA

Career: Associate Vice President and Deputy Chief Information Officer, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

  

Vice President, Communications and Public Relations Barry Whyte

(901) 578-2000

  

Start Date: 2015

barry.whyte@stjude.org

Education: Bristol U BS, PhD

  

 

 

Departments and Divisions

 

 

Department of Bone Marrow Transplantation and Cellular Therapy

Chair Dr. Stephen Gottschalk, MD

(901) 578-2000

  

Start Date: 2017

Note: Effective August 2017.

Education: U Göttingen 1992 MD

  

 

 

Department of Cell and Molecular Biology

Chair Dr. J. Paul Taylor, MD, PhD

(901) 595-6047

  

Start Date: 2014

jpaul.taylor@stjude.org

Career: Senior Editor, Brain Research

  

 

 

Department of Computational Biology

Chair Dr. Jinghui Zhang, MD

(901) 578-2000

  

Start Date: 2015

jinghui.zhang@stjude.org

Education: Connecticut PhD

  

 

 

Department of Genetics

Chair Dr. Gerard C. Grosveld, MD

(901) 578-2000

  

gerard.grosveld@stjude.org

  

 

 

Department of Hematology

Chair Dr. Mitchell Weiss, MD

(901) 578-2000

  

Start Date: 2014

mitch.weiss@stjude.org

  

 

 

Department of Immunology

Chair Dr. Douglas R. Green, MD

(901) 578-2000

  

douglas.green@stjude.org

  

 

 

Department of Infectious Diseases

Chair Dr. Elaine I. Tuomanen, MD

(901) 578-2000

  

elaine.tuomanen@stjude.org

  

 

 

Department of Neurobiology

Chair Dr. Michael Dyer, MD

(901) 578-2000

  

michael.dyer@stjude.org

  

 

 

Department of Oncology

Chief, Hereditary Cancer Predisposition Dr. Ching-Hon Pui, MD

(901) 578-2000

  

 

 

Department of Pathology

Chair Dr. David W. Ellison, MD

(901) 578-2000

  

david.ellison@stjude.org

  

 

 

Department of Pediatric Medicine

Chair (Interim) Amar Gajjar

(901) 595-3300

  

Start Date: 2016

amar.gajjar@stjude.org

Career: Editorial Board Member, Editorial Board, Journal of Clinical Oncology

  

 

 

Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences

Chair Dr. Mary V. Relling, PharmD

(901) 578-2000

  

mary.relling@stjude.org

Education: Utah 1982 BS; Arizona 1985 PharmD

Career: Member, Advisory Committee for Pharmaceutical Science and Clinical Pharmacology, Food and Drug Administration, United States Department of Health and Human Services (2009-2012); Associate Professor, College of Pharmacy, University of Tennessee Health Science Center (1994-1999); Assistant Professor, College of Pharmacy, University of Tennessee Health Science Center (1988-1994)

  

 

 

Department of Psychology

Chair Dr. Sean Phipps, MD

(901) 578-2000

  

sean.phipps@stjude.org